Music Calendar

Founded in 1927 by Ignacio Piñeiro Martínez, Septeto Nacional is widely considered to be the flagship of Cuban traditional music and is the group credited with evolving and popularizing the sound of Cuban son—one of the most influential and widespread forms of Latin American music. Septeto Nacional is made up of Eugenio “El Raspa” R. Rodríguez (vocals), Francisco D. Oropesa-Fernández (bongo), Enrique Collazo (Cuban tres guitar), Dagoberto Sacerio Oliva (guitar/vocals), Agustín Someillán García (trumpet), Raúl Acea Rivera (contrabass), and Julio Martínez Hernández (maracas/vocals). This current configuration invokes the spirit of Havana from the 1920s in their music, while delivering the lush smooth sounds of contemporary Cuba to its audience.

read more about Ignacio Pineira and Septeto here

What Other People Have Been Saying...

“A cornerstone in the evolution of Afro-Cuban music. A national treasure.” —Boston Globe

“In my humble opinion, the greatest living real band in the world.” —Ry Cooder