Music Calendar


Enchanted Heavy Folk

“Part gospel, part folk, the group evokes basement revivals and post-church, front porch jams. Frontwoman Jerree Small’s vocal abilities are incomparable, and her deep, hearty crooning is bolstered by smoldering spoken word passages from Ben Larson (a.k.a. Crew Jones MC Burly Burlesque).”Andrea Swenson, Local Current Blog

A band is not just the sum of its parts. It’s how those parts — the band members — come together to create something unique that wasn’t present before they started playing with one another. That’s why supergroups often don’t sound any better than a regular collection of average Joes and Janes: no matter how much songwriting talent a musician has, connecting with their fellow band members requires a completely different skill set.

When supergroups do work, it’s often the case that the members go in directions that their main bands don’t really allow for. Take the case of Southwire. Jerree Small, a singer/songwriter who has been crafting excellent folky type songs for years, teamed up with Ben Larson (aka Burly Burlesque), the front man for indie hip hop band, Crew Jones, and Sean Elmquist, keyboardist and fellow MC in Crew Jones.

Duluth’s Southwire is borne of an amalgam of folk and rap, sure to be an interesting listen. In 2013, the group performed in the Current studios, was showcased at South by Southwest and released a self-titled debut this year on Chaperone Records.


What Other People Have Been Saying...

“Recorded this past year, the eight hymn-like folk spirituals on Southwire’s self-titled debut come alive via Small’s plaintive and soulful vocals, a mix of lyrical spoken word and booming singing from Larson, and the timeworn instruments used to compose the songs.

Elmquist’s subtle but steady drumming, Larson’s blues-influenced guitar work, and Small’s lilting piano strains all blend elegantly into haunting melodies that sound like they have been carried on the winds of the past.”

-Erik Thompson, CityPages

Artist Media


You may also enjoy these artists:

Madeleine Peyroux

Paul Thorn


Luke Jacobs

Corey Harris