“Contemporary jazz’s premier all-star band” — The New York Times 


Founded by SFJAZZ in 2004, the SFJAZZ Collective is an all-star ensemble and composer’s workshop that represents what’s happening now in jazz, celebrating its 20th Anniversary in 2024.

Since the beginning, the Collective’s mission has been to perform newly commissioned pieces by each member and fresh arrangements of works by modern masters. Through this pioneering approach, simultaneously honoring music’s greatest figures while championing jazz’s up-to-the-minute directions, the SFJAZZ Collective embodies SFJAZZ’s commitment to jazz as a living, ever-relevant art form.

To commemorate two decades as a working ensemble, the supergroup will perform a landmark Anniversary program that both honors the history of the group and looks ahead to its future. In tribute to the artists whose work has been honored by the Collective over 20 years as well as the world-class composers who have been a part of the ensemble, the band will revisit past original compositions and arrangements from its innovative repertoire, updated and re-imagined by this singular lineup of jazz masters.  

Additionally, the band will emphasize the spirit of its name by collectively composing a new suite dedicated to and inspired by its history.

Under the direction of Chris Potter, this lineup of the Collective featuring David Sánchez, Mike Rodriguez, Warren Wolf, Edward Simon, Matt Brewer, and Kendrick Scott is among the most dynamic ever, ensuring each performance is fresh, fun, and full of surprises.

Chris Potter music director, tenor saxophone, winds 
David Sánchez tenor saxophone 
Mike Rodriguez trumpet 
Warren Wolf vibraphone 
Edward Simon piano 
Matt Brewer bass 
Kendrick Scott drums 

Learn More: https://www.sfjazz.org/discover/sfjazz-collective/


You are now being redirected to our official ticket provider. We are not affiliated with any third-party sellers. Thanks and see you at the show!

Buy Tickets