Music Calendar

SFJAZZ Collective

SF Jazz Collective

The SFJAZZ Collective is an all-star jazz ensemble comprising eight of the finest performer/composers at work in jazz today. Launched in 2004 by SFJAZZ—the West Coast’s largest nonprofit jazz institution and the presenter of the annual San Francisco Jazz Festival—the Collective has become one of the most exciting and acclaimed groups on the jazz scene.
In addition to its outstanding line-up, the SFJAZZ Collective has been praised for its innovative approach to repertoire. Each year, the ensemble performs a new list of compositions by a modern jazz master and new pieces by the Collective members (commissioned by SFJAZZ). Through this pioneering approach, simultaneously honoring jazz’s recent history while championing the music’s up-to-the-minute directions, the Collective embodies SFJAZZ’s commitment to jazz as a living, ever-relevant art form.

After exploring the work of Ornette Coleman (2004), John Coltrane (2005), Herbie Hancock (2006), Thelonious Monk (2007), Wayne Shorter (2008), McCoy Tyner (2009), Horace Silver (2010), and Stevie Wonder (2011-2012), the Collective now turns its sights on legendary pianist and composer Chick Corea.

Miguel Zenon, alto saxophone
David Sanchez, tenor saxophone
Avishai Cohen, trumpet
Robin Eubanks, trombone
Stefon Harris, vibraphone
Edward Simon, piano
Matt Penman, bass
Jeff Ballard, drums

Artist Media

View Artist's Page

Sir Duke
Music Of Stevie Wonder and New Compositions

You may also enjoy these artists:


Christian Scott


Chris Speed Trio w/Dave King, Chris Tordini

Maurice Jacox singing

Maurice Jacox

Freddy Cole web

Freddy Cole

LP Music Web

LP Music